Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith

God is Omnipresent

omnipresent: present in all places at the same time

Do you ever find yourself thinking things like, “And on a Sunday no less!” or, “I better not do that in front of my church friends.” Do you tend to fall into the habit of making particular times or places sacred and others common? Do you act one way in front of your “Christian” friends and another way in front of your “regular friends”? Are you like a toddler playing peek-a-boo who assumes that if they can’t see you, you in turn can’t see them? Do you do that with God?

Do you realize that God is everywhere and in everything. He knows your heart. He knows your every thought and your every action. No matter where you are. Isaiah 65:24 says, “Before they call I will answer;while they are still speaking I will hear.” Rest assured that God is very tuned in and aware of all His children everywhere.

God is so big He cannot be contained: I Kings 8:27 But will God indeed dwell with men on the earth? Behold, the heavens and heaven of heavens [in its most extended compass] cannot contain You; how much less this house that I have built?

God could not give something He doesn’t own and is keenly aware of: Psalm 2:7-8 I will declare the decree of the Lord: He said to Me, You are My Son; this day [I declare] I have begotten You. Ask of Me, and I will give You the nations as Your inheritance, and the uttermost parts of the earth as Your possession.

God could not listen and be ready to answer when one of His children cry out to Him if He was not right there with them listening: Psalm 4:3 But know that the Lord has set apart for Himself [and given distinction to] him who is godly [the man of loving-kindness]. The Lord listens and heeds when I call to Him.

No matter where we are or what our circumstances we can rest in peace because God is right there with us comforting us and protecting us:   Psalm 4:8 In peace I will both lie down and sleep, for You, Lord, alone make me dwell in safety and confident trust.

God has to be right there with you to encompass you and surround you and protect you like a shield. You can’t very well shield someone from far away: Psalm 5:12 For You, Lord, will bless the [uncompromisingly] righteous [him who is upright and in right standing with You]; as with a shield You will surround him with goodwill (pleasure and favor).

The mountains are the Lord’s. The whole earth is the Lord’s. He fills it up with His presence: Psalm 24:1-3 THE EARTH is the Lord’s, and the fullness of it, the world and they who dwell in it. For He has founded it upon the seas and established it upon the currents and the rivers. Who shall go up into the mountain of the Lord? Or who shall stand in His Holy Place?

God can see everyone no matter where they are: Psalm 33:13-14 The Lord looks from heaven, He beholds all the sons of men; From His dwelling place He looks [intently] upon all the inhabitants of the earth–

A refuge is a place of shelter. God could not shelter us from far away. He is right here with each of His children: Psalm 46:1 GOD IS our Refuge and Strength [mighty and impenetrable to temptation], a very present and well-proved help in trouble.

There is nowhere to hide or run to or be absent from God: Psalm 139:7-12 Where could I go from Your Spirit? Or where could I flee from Your presence? If I ascend up into heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in Sheol (the place of the dead), behold, You are there. If I take the wings of the morning or dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, Even there shall Your hand lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me. If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me and the night shall be [the only] light about me, Even the darkness hides nothing from You, but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to You.

I’d say “every place” is pretty much all-encompassing, wouldn’t you? Proverbs 15:3 The eyes of the Lord are in every place, keeping watch upon the evil and the good.

There is nowhere we can go that God cannot see us: Jeremiah 23:23-24 Am I a God at hand, says the Lord, and not a God afar off? Can anyone hide himself in secret places so that I cannot see him? says the Lord. Do not I fill heaven and earth? says the Lord.

There is nowhere to run from God: Amos 9:2-3 Though they dig into Sheol (Hades, the dark abode of the gathered dead), from there shall My hand take them; though they climb up to heaven [the abode of light], from there will I bring them down; And though they hide themselves on the top of [Mount] Carmel, from there I will search out and take them; and though they [try to] hide from My sight at the bottom of the sea, there I will command the serpent and it shall bite them.

God inhabits all of nature: Nahum 1:3 The Lord is slow to anger and great in power and will by no means clear the guilty. The Lord has His way in the whirlwind and in the storm, and the clouds are the dust of His feet.

For every two or three believers uniting in the name of God, He is there. Matthew 18:20 For wherever two or three are gathered (drawn together as My followers) in (into) My name, there I AM in the midst of them.

If all things exists in God then it’s not so much that we need to prove that God is everywhere but to comprehend that we are IN HIM. We exist because God exists. He holds everything we understand as reality together and we are living and breathing and either worshiping Him or defying Him while inside the life He provides. God is everywhere because we are inside Him. We cannot hide from God or get away from God because to do so would mean we would have to get outside of Him and that is not possible.

Romans 11:36 For from him and through him and for him are all things.

1 Corinthians 10:26 for, “The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it.”

Colossians 1:16-17 For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Calendar

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
