Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith

God Motivates Each of Us

Paul’s Letter to the Galatians Chapter 2 verses 1-8

Then after fourteen years I again went up to Jerusalem. This time I went with Barnabas, taking Titus along with me also.

2 I went because it was specially and divinely revealed to me that I should go, and I put before them the Gospel which I preach among the Gentiles. However, I presented the matter privately before those of repute, for I wanted to make certain, by thus at first confining my communication to this private conference that I was not running or had not run in vain guarding against being discredited either in what I was planning to do or had already done.

3 But all went well! even Titus, who was with me, was not compelled as some had anticipated to be circumcised, although he was a Greek.

4 My precaution was because of false brethren who had been secretly smuggled in to the Christian brotherhood; they had slipped in to spy on our liberty and the freedom which we have in Christ Jesus, that they might again bring us into bondage under the Law of Moses.  5 To them we did not yield submission even for a moment, that the truth of the Gospel might continue to be preserved for you in its purity.

6 Moreover, no new requirements were made by those who were reputed to be something—though what was their individual position and whether they really were of importance or not makes no difference to me; God is not impressed with the positions that men hold and He is not partial and recognizes no external distinctions—those I say who were of repute imposed no new requirements upon me [had nothing to add to my Gospel, and from them I received no new suggestions].

7 But on the contrary, when they really saw that I had been entrusted to carry the Gospel to the uncircumcised Gentiles, just as definitely as Peter had been entrusted to proclaim the Gospel to the circumcised Jews, they were agreeable;

8 For He Who motivated and fitted Peter and worked effectively through him for the mission to the circumcised, motivated and fitted me and worked through me also for the mission to the Gentiles.

Dear Heavenly Father,

Please motivate and fit me and work effectively through me also for the mission you have for me.  Lord, in Jeremiah 29:11 You said, ” For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future,”  so I know you have something special in mind for me.   Lord, help me to keep my eyes on you and my ears always listening for Your still small voice and help me to respond quickly with obedience.

Amen

One comment on “God Motivates Each of Us

  1. Pingback: In response to circumcision, Peter says, “No need to bother!” (My own translation) « Actions, not just words…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Calendar

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
