Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith

Step 6 God Always Answers Prayers

Step 6 God Always Answers Prayers

Many people have trouble believing God Always Answers Prayers.  People in general seem to believe that when it comes to God the only answer should be yes.

Yes Answers

God does answer yes sometimes.  Yes answers seem to come quicker and more often when the one asking is a sincere believer, asking for God to answer in the way He sees fit, on His own time schedule, and is open to any way God desires to answer.

  • Sincere Belief that God Is Who He Says He Is
  • Sincere Belief that God Hears
  • Sincere Belief that God will answer
  • Sincere Belief that whatever God answers is acceptable
  • Sincere Belief that whenever God answers is acceptable
  • Sincere Belief that however God answers is acceptable
  • Sincere Belief that God sees all, knows all, sees further, has a plan and is working that plan together for their good, His glory, and the furthering of His Kingdom
  • Sincere Belief that living a life of devotion and obedience to God is important and they are pressing forward in order to grow in the knowledge and grace of God no matter where they are on their journey

Matthew 21:22   And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive

Mark 9:23   Jesus said to him, “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.”

John 15:7   If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you.

1 John 3:22   And we receive from Him whatever we ask, because we [watchfully] obey His orders [observe His suggestions and injunctions, follow His plan for us] and [habitually] practice what is pleasing to Him.

1 John 5:14-16   Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

Sometimes God answers prayers in a positive way but not a way that we expected.  Too often we try to shrink God down and fit Him into our human, finite boxes.  We get something in our head and assume that is the best way to handle the situation and then we assume that is exactly how God will handle it and how God should handle it.

Perhaps your vehicle breaks down.  Your gut reaction is to pray for God to fix it miraculously.  Then perhaps you pray that God will send a heavenly mechanic who appears, amends the problem, and then tips his hat to you and refuses payment.  Maybe you just pray that God will let there be an opening at your preferred garage or that God will send the extra money that was not in your budget for the repairs.

Break it down:

The first prayer seems holy because it says, “Hey God, I know you are God and all that implies so I am asking you for a downright miracle right here on 7th Avenue where I am currently stranded.  Please part your glorious clouds that Thy Hands hath wrought and beam down engine repair on my vehicle oh gracious and mighty Lord.”

Who is to say God will not do that?  Surely there are many people who would attest to a similar situation and have a tale to spin about how God did just what they asked and miraculously their vehicle started and away they went with no more trouble.  God DOES answer prayers like that sometimes.  No question about it.

The second prayer, that God will send help.  Here are some things to consider about this second prayer:

  • How quickly did the second prayer come into play?
  • Was it actually the first prayer for some because they don’t necessarily believe God actually works miracles and if He does surely He works miracles that are “important” like curing cancer in children and not simply touching your ailing engine.
  • Do we expect grandiose things from God and not small things?  Is He not the God of big and small?
  • Do we not deem ourselves and our needs to be important to God?  Or do we consider it selfish to even ask God for something for us when others have greater needs?
  • Maybe we have just been taught to pray so we do but consciously or subconsciously even if we are praying we are also trying to figure out how to solve the problem ourselves?  Prayer is like a safety net?  If I can’t figure it out then I have my God base covered?

There is no doubt that you could find an unlimited amount of stories of this or  a similar situation where there was a need that seemed hopeless and out of the blue here comes a stranger to help, asking nothing in return, and you are saved.  This does happen.  Perhaps it was a child of God that God prompted to help or perhaps it was an angel.  The Bible does say that some have entertained angels unaware.

Hebrews 13    Let love for your fellow believers continue and be a fixed practice with you [never let it fail]. Do not forget or neglect or refuse to extend hospitality to strangers [in the brotherhood—being friendly, cordial, and gracious, sharing the comforts of your home and doing your part generously], for through it some have entertained angels without knowing it.

The next level prayer – Maybe you just pray that God will let there be an opening at your preferred garage or that God will send the extra money that was not in your budget for the repairs.

These are legitimate prayers.  Asking God for help in any way is always advised.

Having an intimate relationship with God is what He desires and what opens the door for you to be able to go  to God with every need, care, concern, anxiety, or desire.

Deuteronomy 4:29   But if from there you will seek (inquire for and require as necessity) the Lord your God, you will find Him if you [truly] seek Him with all your heart [and mind] and soul and life.

Psalm 139:7-10   Where could I go from Your Spirit? Or where could I flee from Your presence? If I ascend up into heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in Sheol (the place of the dead), behold, You are there. If I take the wings of the morning or dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, Even there shall Your hand lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me.

Psalm 119:1-3   Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are the undefiled (the upright, truly sincere, and blameless) in the way [of the revealed will of God], who walk (order their conduct and conversation) in the law of the Lord (the whole of God’s revealed will). Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are they who keep His testimonies, and who seek, inquire for and of Him and crave Him with the whole heart. Yes, they do no unrighteousness [no willful wandering from His precepts]; they walk in His ways.

Proverbs 3:5-6   Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

Micah 7:7   But as for me, I will look to the Lord and confident in Him I will keep watch; I will wait with hope and expectancy for the God of my salvation; my God will hear me.

Make it a habit to go to God first and in every situation not matter how small, no matter how big.

Matthew 6:33   But seek (aim at and strive after) first of all His kingdom and His righteousness (His way of doing and being right), and then all these things taken together will be given you besides.

Live a life that is in touch with God and with a spirit that is ever reaching out to Him.

1 Thessalonians 5:17-18  Be unceasing in prayer [praying perseveringly]; Thank [God] in everything [no matter what the circumstances may be, be thankful and give thanks], for this is the will of God for you [who are] in Christ Jesus [the Revealer and Mediator of that will].

God is a very practical God.  Does he part oceans?  Yes.  Does He turn water into wine?  Yes.  Did He create everything that is from nothing?  Yes.  Does He work in mysterious ways?  Yes.  But on a day to day basis God uses the normal and the  natural to accomplish great things.

Occam’s razor is the law of parsimony, economy, or succinctness.   It is a principle urging one to select from among competing hypotheses that which makes the fewest assumptions.  In other words, unless you live on the plains of the Serengeti, if you hear hoof beats think horses not zebras.

God absolutely has the power to reach out His mighty hand and ordain the impossible.  But look at how God works.  Take the story of Joseph for example.  Joseph was the beloved child of Jacob (Israel).  He had eleven brothers (ultimately they made up the twelve tribes of Israel).  The older brothers grew weary of his being the favorite, acting obnoxious and arrogant, and they sold him into slavery in Egypt.  He spent time being accused of things he did not do.  He spent time in prison.  The whole time he was alone and separated from his family and his father’s heart was broken.  Eventually he found his way into the King’s presence and then into the King’s heart, and then he was promoted over all the King owned.  The end of the story is that when a horrible famine came upon the land Joseph was in a place of power and when his brothers came seeking food he was able to help his family.

Here we see God’s will being played out.  God had a plan to get Joseph into a place of power so that the twelve tribes of Israel, God’s chosen people, would not starve to death.

This is the practicality of God.

  • Could God simply have not allowed a famine in the first place?  Yes
  • Could God have simply let Joseph grow up with his family and then miraculously let him conquer the King and take possession of the wealth and food?  Yes
  • Could God have played this scenario out in a thousand other ways?  Yes
  • Does it seem like a lot of unnecessary suffering went on in order for this story to unfold?  Yes, sometimes it absolutely seems that way
  • Did the brothers of Joseph plan evil out of their ‘free will’ and God swooped in and turned the tables on them by using it for good?  or did God ordain it in the first place?

Genesis 50:20   As for you, you thought evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring about that many people should be kept alive, as they are this day.

So, back to the original scenario.  Have you forgotten it?  Here it is again:

Perhaps your vehicle breaks down.  Your gut reaction is to pray for God to fix it miraculously.  Then perhaps you pray that God will send a heavenly mechanic who appears, amends the problem, and then tips his hat to you and refuses payment.  Maybe you just pray that God will let there be an opening at your preferred garage or that God will send the extra money that was not in your budget for the repairs.

Now, consider a new theory.  Think outside the box a bit.  Like God does.  

Perhaps God allowed or even ordained your vehicle to break down.  What if God wants you to carpool with a neighbor for a while in order to get to know them?  Be a witness to them?  Maybe they have a need you will never know about because you never have an occasion to talk to them long enough to form a relationship.

Maybe you are asking God to fix a situation He created.

Maybe instead of immediately focusing on how your situation is affecting you it would be better to get still and ask God, “What do You have in mind here?  How do You want me to react to this?  You have my attention God, I am listening.  Please speak to my heart and use me however you feel is right.”

Isaiah 55:8-9   For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.

No Answers

We don’t always understand but we still trust and praise

Habakkuk 3:17-19
Though the fig tree may not blossom,
Nor fruit be on the vines;
Though the labor of the olive may fail,
And the fields yield no food;
Though the flock may be cut off from the fold,
And there be no herd in the stalls—
Yet I will rejoice in the Lord,
I will joy in the God of my salvation.
The Lord God is my strength;
He will make my feet like deer’s feet,
And He will make me walk on my high hills.

Whether you are a parent or have parents, and surely you fall into at least one of those two categories, you know what it is like to say NO for the good of all involved.

Do normal children consistently and politely request naps, vegetables, and discipline?  Unlikely.  Normal children ask for exemption from things they deem unpleasant.  Normal children request sweets and treats and more play time.  That is to be expected.  The smaller the child the more demanding their sense of self-preservation.

An infant cries to be held and fed.  Those are two things a baby needs in order to grow and feel secure.  It’s nature’s way of  making sure the baby survives.  A two-year old favors his new-found word, “NO!”  This is a normal growth stage and to be expected.  Teenagers become obnoxious at times as they learn to assert themselves and desire to take on more responsibility.  Every stage is a right of passage.  A necessary although often painful step up to the next level.

A good parent seeks to find balance.  “Please don’t make me take a bath!”  “I don’t want to brush my teeth!”  “I want ice cream not brussel sprouts!”  “I don’t want to go to bed!”  These are normal cries of all children at some point.  A parent’s job is to know when to insist and when to relent.  Scripture tells us in Ecclesiastes 3:1 To everything there is a season, and a time for every matter or purpose under heaven.

God as our heavenly parent knows perfectly well when to say yes, when to say wait, and when to say no.  It is in trusting God as sovereign Lord, faithful, able, mighty, and desiring to give us good things, that we learn to accept His will.

God’s will and timing are perfect and He can be trusted at all times with all things.

Luke 22:42    Jesus prayed in the garden Saying, Father, if You are willing, remove this cup from Me; yet not My will, but [always] Yours be done.

Sometimes God simply says NO.

Paul’s Thorn in the flesh

2 Corinthians 12:7-10   And to keep me from being puffed up and too much elated by the exceeding greatness (preeminence) of these revelations, there was given me a thorn (a splinter) in the flesh, a messenger of Satan, to rack and buffet and harass me, to keep me from being excessively exalted.

Three times I called upon the Lord and besought [Him] about this and begged that it might depart from me;

But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness.

Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me!  So for the sake of Christ, I am well pleased and take pleasure in infirmities, insults, hardships, persecutions, perplexities and distresses; for when I am weak [in human strength], then am I [truly] strong (able, powerful in divine strength).

Check Your Motivation

Romans 8:28   And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

2 Corinthians 9:8   And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have an abundance for every good work.

James 5:16   The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].

God does what He does so that ultimately He will be praised

Jeremiah 33:9    Then it shall be to Me a name of joy, a praise, and an honor before all nations of the earth, who shall hear all the good that I do to them; they shall fear and tremble for all the goodness and all the prosperity that I provide for it.

Throughout the Old Testament God provides, blesses, and does miracles so that You will know that I am the LORD your God.  All of God’s creation was brought forth to worship Him, glorify Him, and commune in fellowship with Him.  Since the time of Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden and the Fall of Man God has been working to bring mankind back to a state of perfection.  Everything He does is so that You will know that I am the LORD your God.

  • Exodus 6:7  I will take you as my own people, and I will be your God. Then you will know that I am the LORD your God, who brought you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians.
  • Exodus 16:12  “I have heard the grumbling of the Israelites. Tell them, ‘At twilight you will eat meat, and in the morning you will be filled with bread. Then you will know that I am the LORD your God.’”
  • Exodus 29:46  They will know that I am the LORD their God, who brought them out of Egypt so that I might dwell among them. I am the LORD their God.
  • Leviticus 23:43  so your descendants will know that I had the Israelites live in temporary shelters when I brought them out of Egypt. I am the LORD your God.’”
  • Joshua 3:10  This is how you will know that the living God is among you and that he will certainly drive out before you the Canaanites, Hittites, Hivites, Perizzites, Girgashites, Amorites and Jebusites.
  • 1 Kings 20:28  The man of God came up and told the king of Israel, “This is what the LORD says: ‘Because the Arameans think the LORD is a god of the hills and not a god of the valleys, I will deliver this vast army into your hands, and you will know that I am the LORD.’”
  • Psalm 46:10  He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”
  • Isaiah 45:3  I will give you hidden treasures, riches stored in secret places, so that you may know that I am the LORD, the God of Israel, who summons you by name.
  • Ezekiel 28:26  They will live there in safety and will build houses and plant vineyards; they will live in safety when I inflict punishment on all their neighbors who maligned them. Then they will know that I am the LORD their God.’”
  • Ezekiel 34:30  Then they will know that I, the LORD their God, am with them and that they, the Israelites, are my people, declares the Sovereign LORD.
  • Ezekiel 36:22  Therefore say to the house of Israel, Thus says the Lord God: I do not do this for your sakes, O house of Israel, but for My holy name’s sake, which you have profaned among the nations to which you went.
  • Ezekiel 39:22  From that day forward the people of Israel will know that I am the LORD their God.
  • Ezekiel 39:28  Then they will know that I am the LORD their God, for though I sent them into exile among the nations, I will gather them to their own land, not leaving any behind.
  • Joel 2:27  Then you will know that I am in Israel, that I am the LORD your God, and that there is no other; never again will my people be shamed.

Remember, if you are praying for things out of selfish motives and not seeking God’s will with a sincere willingness to wait and receive what God wants you to have, it is highly likely God will say no.

God answers on His Own time schedule

Jeremiah 1:12   Then the Lord said to me, “You have seen well, for I am ready to perform My word.”

Often, the situations we find ourselves in are merely ordained and used by God to get our attention and draw us to Him.  The need creates an urgency to pray, to reach out to God Who was there all the time we just weren’t paying attention.  If you are in need, simply ask God, “Lord, is this your will for me?  What can I learn from this?  Help me to draw closer to You and trust You to use this for your glory.”  

Perhaps that would be a hard prayer to pray for you.  If it is then you may have just found the answer to why your prayers have seemed to go unanswered.

“The function of prayer is not to influence God, but rather to change the nature of the one who prays.”
~Soren Kierkegaard

Jeremiah 33:3   ‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’

James 5:16The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].

<  Step 5:  Always Know That God Hears Your Prayers and Knows Your Need

Step 7:  Remember God Sees A Much Bigger Picture Than We Do  >

Introduction:  10 Steps to Biblical Prosperity
Step 1:  Believe God Is Who He Says He Is
Step 2:  Believe God Wants Good Things For You
Step 3:  Be Faithful In Obedience
Step 4:  Always Remember God Is Sovereign
Step 5:  Always Know That God Hears Your Prayers and Knows Your Need
Step 6:  God Always Answers Prayers
Step 7:  Remember God Sees A Much Bigger Picture Than We Do
Step 8:  Remember God Disciplines Those He Loves
Step 9:  Patience Is A Virtue
Step 10:  Be Ready To Receive What God Has For You

Related Posts
God Seeks Sincerity of Heart
Trust Receive Rejoice
God Always Answers
God Always Answers
To You O Lord I Lift Up My Soul
Be Merciful to Me O Lord
Do Not Worry or Be Anxious About Anything
The Grail prayer
Learning to See God for Who He Is and to Worship Him in Sincerety
A Prayer of Repentance

Share A Verse

3 comments on “Step 6 God Always Answers Prayers

  1. harman747
    June 2, 2014

    Reblogged this on harman747's Blog.

  2. Pingback: Hard Times for the Rich 092512 « Mennonite Preacher

  3. Pingback: Safe Houses, Quiet Gardens 090712 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2012 by in 1Kings, All Sufficient God, Benefits of Serving God, Blessed, Christianity, Comfort, Deliverance, Exodus, Ezekiel, Faith, Faith, Faithfulness, Favor of God, Favorite Prayers, Forgiveness, General Epistles, Glad, Gladness, Glory, God, God, God Hears Our Prayers, God Our Salvation, God Rules, Good News, Gospels, Grace, Guidance, Healing, Help, Historical Old Testament Books, Hope, II Corinthians, Inspiration, Isaiah, James, Jesus Christ, Joel, Joshua, Knowledge, Life, Love, Love, Luke, Majesty, Major Prophets, Mercy, Minor Prophets, New Testament, Old Testament, Pauline Epistles, Peace, Pentateuch or The Five Books of Moses, Power, Praise, Prayer, Promises, Protection, Provision, Psalms, Relief, Romans, Sovereign, Spirituality, Thanks, Trust, Truth, Understanding, Victory, Waiting on God, Wisdom Books, Wonders, Words of Jesus, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Calendar

September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
