Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith

The Lord Has Heard the Voice of My Weeping

Psalm 6:2-3

Psalm 6:1-10
O Lord, rebuke me not in Your anger nor discipline and chasten me in Your hot displeasure.

Have mercy on me and be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am weak (faint and withered away); O Lord, heal me, for my bones are troubled.

My [inner] self [as well as my body] is also exceedingly disturbed and troubled. But You, O Lord, how long [until You return and speak peace to me]?

Return [to my relief], O Lord, deliver my life; save me for the sake of Your steadfast love and mercy.

For in death there is no remembrance of You; in Sheol (the place of the dead) who will give You thanks?

I am weary with my groaning; all night I soak my pillow with tears, I drench my couch with my weeping. My eye grows dim because of grief; it grows old because of all my enemies.

Depart from me, all you workers of iniquity,

for the Lord has heard the voice of my weeping. The Lord has heard my supplication; the Lord receives my prayer.

Let all my enemies be ashamed and sorely troubled; let them turn back and be put to shame suddenly.

Share A Verse

The Psalms are full of David’s deep, soul felt crying out to God.  We are blessed because of David’s ability and willingness to strip himself bare and share his humanity, his frailty, his weakness, and his need.   David battled with times of darkness, depression, loneliness, fear, and feeling abandoned by God.

What do we know about David?

He was very handsome and had the Spirit of the Lord upon him.

  • 1 Samuel 16:11-13  And Samuel said to Jesse, “Are all the young men here?” Then he said,

“There remains yet the youngest, and there he is, keeping the sheep.”

And Samuel said to Jesse, “Send and bring him. For we will not sit down
till he comes here.” So he sent and brought him in.

Now he was ruddy, with bright eyes, and good-looking.

And the Lord said, “Arise, anoint him; for this is the one!” Then Samuel
took the horn of oil and anointed him in the midst of his brothers;

and the Spirit of the Lord came upon David from that day forward.

He was chosen,  exalted, anointed of God, and God promised him that his throne would be established forever (by way of Jesus Christ the Messiah being a decendent of David).

  • 2 Samuel 23:1  Now these are the last words of David son of Jesse, the man who was raised on high, the anointed of the God of Jacob, and the sweet psalmist of Israel
  • 2 Samuel 7:8-9  So now say this to My servant David, Thus says the Lord of hosts: I took you from the pasture, from following the sheep, to be prince over My people Israel. And I was with you wherever you went, and have cut off all your enemies from before you; and I will make you a great name, like [that] of the great men of the earth.
  • 2 Samuel 7:16  And your house and your kingdom shall be made sure forever before you; your throne shall be established forever.

He was a man after God’s own heart, even the name David means “Beloved of God”.

  • 1 Kings 11:4  For it was so, when Solomon was old, that his wives turned his heart after other gods; and his heart was not loyal to the Lord his God, as was the heart of his father David.
  • 1 Kings 14:8  And rent the kingdom away from the house of David and gave it to you—and yet you have not been as My servant David, who kept My commandments and followed Me with all his heart, to do only what was right in My eyes
  • 1 Kings 15:3  He walked in all the sins of his father [Rehoboam] before him; and his heart was not blameless with the Lord his God, as the heart of David his father [forefather].
  • 1 Samuel 13:14  But now your kingdom shall not continue; the Lord has sought out [David] a man after His own heart, and the Lord has commanded him to be prince and ruler over His people, because you have not kept what the Lord commanded you.
  • Acts 13:22  And when He had deposed him, He raised up David to be their king; of him He bore witness and said, I have found David son of Jesse a man after My own heart, who will do all My will and carry out My program fully.

He was an incredibly wealthy king.

  • 1 Chronicles 29  Offerings for Building the Temple

Furthermore King David said to all the assembly: “My son Solomon, whom alone God has chosen, is young and inexperienced; and the work is great, because the temple[a] is not for man but for the Lord God. Now for the house of my God I have prepared with all my might: gold for things to be made of gold, silver for things of silver, bronze for things of bronze, iron for things of iron, wood for things of wood, onyx stones, stones to be set, glistening stones of various colors, all kinds of precious stones, and marble slabs in abundance. Moreover, because I have set my affection on the house of my God, I have given to the house of my God, over and above all that I have prepared for the holy house,

my own special treasure of gold and silver: three thousand talents of gold, of the gold of Ophir, and seven thousand talents of refined silver, to overlay the walls of the houses; the gold for things of gold and the silver for things of silver, and for all kinds of work to be done by the hands of craftsmen.


This knowledge of David opens up a revelation regarding the human existence.  David was chosen by God, beloved by God, honored by God, had God’s Spirit on Him, and he still had dark days.   Keep this in mind when you are confronted with less than pleasant situations in your life.

The human existence, being born into an imperfect world, lacking the ability to perfect ourselves, and being subject to both visible and spiritual opposition is enough to send one straight from the womb to the funny farm.  In fact, outside of the goodness and graciousness of a benevolent, loving heavenly Father, none of us would make it.

Sometimes we face troubles as a result of sin:  bad choices, rushing ahead without consulting God’s perfect will and perfect timing, outright defiance.  

Sometimes we face troubles as a result of other’s sin.

Sometimes we face troubles as a means of teaching and training, hardening us to difficulties, learning to trust God.

But sometimes we face troubles just because we are human and that is the way life is in an imperfect world.

The source of the trouble is far less important than the source of our help.   This is why David was a man after God’s own heart.  No matter the situation, no matter how much David had to do with the trouble he was in, David always bared his soul before God leaving nothing unconfessed no matter how incriminating it might be.  He knew the source of his help and he never let shame, pride, or what other’s thought of him get in the way of going straight to God.

The Psalms of David bear out the human condition as well as the heavenly answer. 

Share A Verse

One comment on “The Lord Has Heard the Voice of My Weeping

  1. Lyn Leahz
    November 10, 2012

    Beautiful! Thank you for sharing! God bless you!!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2012 by in 1Kings, 2 Samuel, Acts, All Sufficient God, Apostolic History, Benefits of Serving God, Blessed, Calm, Christianity, Comfort, Compassion, Deliverance, Depression, Devotion, Faith, Faith, Favor of God, Fear of the Lord, Forgiveness, Freedom, God, God, God Hears Our Prayers, God of Restoration, God Our Defense, God Our Refuge, God Our Rock, God Our Salvation, Grace, Guidance, Healing, Heart, Help, Historical Old Testament Books, Hope, Humble, I Chronicles, I Samuel, Inspiration, Justice, Life, Love, Love, Majesty, Mercy, New Testament, Old Testament, Peace, Power, Praise, Prayer, Promises, Protection, Provision, Psalms, Rejoice, Relief, Safety, Seek, Servant, Silence, Soul, Spirit, Spirituality, Strength, Trust, Truth, Understanding, Victory, Waiting on God, Wisdom Books, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Calendar

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
