Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith

God Strengthens Us

Psalm 119:28

Psalm 119:28   My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to your word.

Psalm 18:2     The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

God Understands Our Feelings of Weakness

Psalm 147:5     Great is our Lord, and mighty in power; His understanding is infinite.

Nehemiah 9:32     Now therefore, our God, the great, mighty, and terrible God, Who keeps covenant and mercy and loving-kindness, let not all the trouble and hardship seem little to You — the hardship that has come upon us, our kings, our princes, our priests, our prophets, our fathers, and on all Your people, since the time of the kings of Assyria to this day.

Job 36:5   Behold! God is mighty, and yet despises no one nor regards anything as trivial; He is mighty in power of understanding and heart.

Psalm 46:1     God is our Refuge and Strength [mighty and impenetrable to temptation], a very present and well-proved help in trouble.

Ephesians 1:19     And [so that you can know and understand] what is the immeasurable and unlimited and surpassing greatness of His power in and for us who believe, as demonstrated in the working of His mighty strength

God Hardens Us to Difficulties

Isaiah 41:8-20
But you, Israel, are My servant,
Jacob whom I have chosen,
The descendants of Abraham My friend.

You whom I have taken from the ends of the earth,
And called from its farthest regions,
And said to you,

‘You are My servant,
I have chosen you and have not cast you away:

Fear not. There is nothing to fear. I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and harden you to difficulties,

Yes, I will help you;
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

Behold, all they who are enraged and inflamed against you
Shall be put to shame and confounded;
They shall be as nothing
And those who strive with you shall perish.
You shall seek them and not find them—
Those who contended with you.
Those who war against you
Shall be as nothing, As nothing at all.

For I the Lord your God hold your right hand;
I am the Lord, Who says to you, Fear not; I will help you!

Fear not, you worm Jacob, you men of Israel!
I will help you, says the Lord;
Your Redeemer is the Holy One of Israel.

Behold, I will make you to be a new, sharp,
threshing instrument which has teeth;
You shall thresh the mountains and beat them small,
And shall make the hills like chaff.
You shall winnow them, and the wind shall carry them away,
And the whirlwind shall scatter them.
And you shall rejoice in the Lord,
You shall glory in the Holy One of Israel.

The poor and needy seek water, but there is none,
Their tongues fail for thirst.

I, the Lord, will hear them;
I, the God of Israel, will not forsake them.

I will open rivers in desolate heights,
And fountains in the midst of the valleys;
I will make the wilderness a pool of water,
And the dry land springs of water.
I will plant in the wilderness the cedar and the acacia tree,
The myrtle and the oil tree;
I will set in the desert the cypress tree and the pine
And the box-tree together,

That they may see and know,
And consider and understand together,
That the hand of the Lord has done this,
And the Holy One of Israel has created it.

God Cannot Harden Us to Difficulties if We Never Experience Any

It’s one thing to read about famine and starving children in Africa and to feel pity and quite another to know first hand what it is like to be truly hungry or to watch your child grow weaker because they have not eaten.

It’s one thing to read the Bible and nod in agreement that God is all-knowing, all-seeing, ever-present, completely in control, and will take care of you no matter what and quite another to have to trust Him to provide.

Yes, God does bless His children. There is nothing wrong with prosperity or good times or blessings.   God is a God of loving kindness and tender mercies.  The Bible tells us so in many places.  The Psalms tell us He will give us the desires of our heart and that He delights in the prosperity of His children.

The Bible also tells us over and over that we are to trust Him.  Be still and know that He is God.  To keep our eyes on Him and to grow in faith.

How can we ever trust Him or truly believe He is Who He says He is or He will do what He says He will do if we never experience situations that require that kind of faith?

We take so much for granted and often have feelings of entitlement.   Too often we fail to acknowledge all that God does for us every day.   We have established trust in provision to the point we are often oblivious of its existence.   Can you name the number of  bridges within a mile of your home?   Doubtful.  Next time you go to the market or commute to work make a point to look for them and count.   You might be surprised.   You trust daily that the bridges you drive your car over will support you.   In fact, you believe it so much that you probably don’t even know the number of bridges you cross just to get to work or the supermarket on a regular basis.   But we see in the news from time to time that bridges do give out.   That people do die.   Sinkholes open in what was considered to be solid ground.   Rains loosen dirt and mudslides cause million dollar homes to slide off mountains.   Earthquakes and hurricanes cause icons of steel and mortar to tremble and sway and twist as if they were made of string.

Once you have personally experienced the failure of what you took for granted the next step is less confident.  Less sure.

We think nothing of complaining about our jobs or the chore of paying bills until we have no job and no money to pay our creditors.   It’s easy to take for granted climate control and clean hot and cold water until no job leads to no money and no money leads to no power.   Suddenly the thermostat in your home is rendered no more than a wall decoration and no amount of  effort can cause water to pour from a faucet.   What then?   Do you truly believe that God will supply all your needs?   Do you truly trust that He is in control and hears your prayers and will come quickly to answer?

Many people believe that “God helps those who help themselves” is a Bible verse but actually it was Benjamin Franklin who quoted those words.   Still, even if it is not in the Bible word for word is it not still a handy maxim?   God surely seems to support the concept of being all you can be and working hard.   The story of the ant and the grasshopper is in the Bible as well as the parable of the talents.   2 Thessalonians 3:10 says, “If a man will not work, he shall not eat.”    So, what does God expect of us?

Do we scramble around and put forth every effort to make things happen for ourselves?   Do we take lemons and “turn them into lemonade”?  Do we borrow?  Do we sell all that we have?

No Matter What the First Thing Should Always Be to Consult God

Psalm 146:3     Put not your trust in princes, nor in the son of man, in whom there is no help.

Psalm 121:1-2     I will lift up my eyes unto the hills, from whence comes my help.   My help comes from the Lord, maker of heaven and earth .

Proverbs 3:5-6     Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.    In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

Matthew 6:8     your Father knows what you need before you ask him.

Matthew 6:33     But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.

The Second Thing Is to Remember God Is In Control

Psalm 71:20

Psalm 71:20     Though you have made me see troubles, many and bitter, you will restore my life again; from the depths of the earth you will again bring me up.

Proverbs 19:21   Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.

2 Corinthians 4:7–10     But we have this treasure in clay jars, so that it may be made clear that this extraordinary power belongs to God and does not come from us.   We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair;  persecuted, but not forsaken;  struck down, but not destroyed;  always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be made visible in our bodies.

Ephesians 1:11     In him we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will.

1 Peter 4:19     So then, those who suffer according to God’s will should commit themselves to their faithful Creator and continue to do good.

Isaiah 45:6-7     That people may know, from the rising of the sun and from the west, that there is none besides me; I am the Lord, and there is no other. I form light and create darkness, I make well-being and create calamity, I am the Lord, who does all these things.

Daniel 4:35     All the inhabitants of the earth are accounted as nothing, and he does according to his will among the host of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth; and none can stay his hand or say to him, “What have you done?”

The Third Thing Is to Realize, Accept, and Embrace That There Is a Purpose For All Things

Romans 5:3-4

Romans 5:3-4     We also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance;and perseverance produces character;  and character produces hope and hope does not disappoint us, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

Philippians 4:12     I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.

2 Corinthians 1:8–10     For we were so utterly, unbearably crushed that we despaired of life itself.   Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death so that we would rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead.   He who rescued us from so deadly a peril will continue to rescue us; on him we have set our hope that he will rescue us again

2 Corinthians 4:16–18     So we do not lose heart.   Even though our outer nature is wasting away, our inner nature is being renewed day by day.   For this slight momentary affliction is preparing us for an eternal weight of glory beyond all measure, because we look not at what can be seen but at what cannot be seen; for what can be seen is temporary, but what cannot be seen is eternal.

2 Corinthians 12:9     But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Genesis 50:20     As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.

Exodus 9:16     But for this purpose I have raised you up, to show you my power, so that my name may be proclaimed in all the earth.

Do Not Be Afraid God Is With You

Psalm 56:3     What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.

Psalm 91:1–2, 5-6, 9-12     You who live in the shelter of the Most High, who abide in the shadow of the Almighty, will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress; my God, in whom I trust.”

You will not fear the terror of the night, or the arrow that flies by day, or the pestilence that stalks in darkness, or the destruction that wastes at noonday.   Because you have made the Lord your refuge, the Most High your dwelling place, no evil shall befall you, no scourge come near your tent.

For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways.   On their hands they will bear you up, so that you will not dash your foot against a stone.

Psalm 91:14–16     Those who love me, I will deliver;  I will protect those who know my name.   When they call to me, I will answer them;  I will be with them in trouble, I will rescue them and honor them.   With long life I will satisfy them, and show them my salvation.

Psalm 112:1&7     Praise the Lord! Happy are those who fear the Lord, who greatly delight in his commandments.   They are not afraid of evil tidings; their hearts are firm, secure in the Lord.

Psalm 119:28     My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to your word.

Psalm 119:50   My comfort in my suffering is this:  Your promise preserves my life.

Proverbs 3:24-26     When you lie down, you will not be afraid;  Yes, you will lie down and your sleep will be sweet.   Do not be afraid of sudden terror, Nor of trouble from the wicked when it comes; For the Lord will be your confidence, And will keep your foot from being caught.

Proverbs 29:25     The fear of man brings a snare, But he who trusts in the Lord will be exalted.

Isaiah 12:2 Isaiah 12:2     “Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid.   The Lord, the Lord, is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.”

Isaiah 35:4–5     say to those with fearful hearts, “Be strong, do not fear; your God will come, he will come with vengeance; with divine retribution he will come to save you.”  Then will the eyes of the blind be opened and the ears of the deaf unstopped.

Isaiah 43:1–3     Fear not, for I have redeemed you;  I have summoned you by name; you are mine.   When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.   When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.  For I am the Lord, your God.

Be Strong and Let Your Heart Take Courage

Exodus 14:14     The Lord will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.

Deuteronomy 20:4     for the Lord your God is He who goes with you, to fight for you against your enemies, to save you.

Deuteronomy 33:27     The eternal God is your refuge and dwelling place, and underneath are the everlasting arms.

2 Samuel 22:2-3

2 Samuel 22:2-3     The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;  The God of my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, My stronghold and my refuge;  My Savior, You save me from violence.

Psalm 9:9-10     The Lord also will be a refuge and a high tower for the oppressed, a refuge and a stronghold in times of trouble (high cost, destitution, and desperation).   And they who know Your name [who have experience and acquaintance with Your mercy] will lean on and confidently put their trust in You, for You, Lord, have not forsaken those who seek (inquire of and for) You [on the authority of God’s Word and the right of their necessity].

Psalm 29:11   The Lord will give strength to His people; The Lord will bless His people with peace.

Psalm 31:24   Be strong and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for and hope for and expect the Lord!

Psalm 32:7     You are a hiding place for me; You, Lord, preserve me from trouble, You surround me with songs and shouts of deliverance.

Psalm 34:4-6     I sought (inquired of) the Lord and required Him [of necessity and on the authority of His Word], and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.   They looked to Him and were radiant; their faces shall never blush for shame or be confused.   This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him, and saved him out of all his troubles.

Psalm 34:10     The young lions lack food and suffer hunger, but they who seek (inquire of and require) the Lord [by right of their need and on the authority of His Word], none of them shall lack any beneficial thing.

Psalm 34:15     The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, And His ears are open to their cry.

Psalm 34:17-18     When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears, and delivers them out of all their distress and troubles.   The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart, And saves such as have a contrite spirit.

Psalm 37:40     And the Lord helps them and delivers them; He delivers them from the wicked and saves them, because they trust and take refuge in Him.

Psalm 55:22     Cast your burden on the Lord, And He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.

Psalm 56:9     When I cry out to You,then my enemies will turn back;  This I know, because God is for me.

Psalm 57:1-2     Be merciful and gracious to me, O God, be merciful and gracious to me, for my soul takes refuge and finds shelter and confidence in You; yes, in the shadow of Your wings will I take refuge and be confident until calamities and destructive storms are passed.   I will cry to God Most High, Who performs on my behalf and rewards me [Who brings to pass His purposes for me and surely completes them]!

Psalm 62:8     Trust in, lean on, rely on, and have confidence in Him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts before Him.   God is a refuge for us (a fortress and a high tower).

Psalm 91:15-16     He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him;   I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.   With long life will I satisfy him and show him My salvation.

Psalm 121:3   He will not allow your foot to slip or to be moved;  He Who keeps you will not slumber.

Psalm 121:8   The Lord will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.

Psalm 138:3   In the day when I called, You answered me; and You strengthened me with strength (might and inflexibility to temptation) in my inner self.

Isaiah 41:10   Fear not [there is nothing to fear], for I am with you; do not look around you in terror and be dismayed, for I am your God.   I will strengthen and harden you to difficulties, yes, I will help you; yes, I will hold you up and retain you with My [victorious] right hand of rightness and justice.

Jeremiah 32:17   Ah, Lord God! Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and outstretched arm.  There is nothing too hard for You.

Matthew 6:31-34     Therefore do not worry and be anxious, saying, What are we going to have to eat? or, What are we going to have to drink? or, What are we going to have to wear? For the Gentiles (heathen) wish for and crave and diligently seek all these things, and your heavenly Father knows well that you need them all.   But seek (aim at and strive after) first of all His kingdom and His righteousness (His way of doing and being right), and then all these things taken together will be given you besides.   So do not worry or be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will have worries and anxieties of its own.   Sufficient for each day is its own trouble.

John 16:33     I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace and confidence. In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration;  but be of good cheer [take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted]!  For I have overcome the world. [I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.]

Philippians 4:4-9   Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition (definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God.

Philippians 4:19   And my God will liberally supply (fill to the full) your every need according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

<   Previous:   God Teaches the Cycle of Trust

Next:   God Fights For Us   >

Learning to Hear and Trust God’s Voice
God is Sovereign
God is in Control
God Has a Plan for Your Life
God is Trustworthy
God Sees A Bigger Picture Than We Do
God Teaches the Cycle of Trust
God Strengthens Us
God Fights For Us
God is Bigger Than ANY Need We Have
God Never Puts Us Where He Can’t Keep Us

Related Posts:
The Voice of God
God’s Voice is Truth
Choosing to Hear and Obey God’s Voice
God’s Voice Leads you, Comforts you, Blesses you
Consider Your Thoughts
THOUGHTS
Take Control of Your Thoughts
What Was I Thinking?
Consider the Source
Renew Your Mind Daily
Think On These Things
Think Before You Speak
Body Soul Spirit
Armor of God

Share A Verse

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2013 by in 2 Samuel, All Sufficient God, Benefits of Serving God, Blessed, Calm, Christianity, Comfort, Daniel, Deliverance, Deuteronomy, Ephesians, Exodus, Faith, Faith, Faithfulness, Favor of God, Fear of the Lord, Genesis, Glory of God, God, God, God Hears Our Prayers, God of Restoration, God Our Defense, God Our Refuge, God Our Rock, God Our Salvation, Good News, Gospels, Grace, Guidance, Healing, Help, Historical Old Testament Books, Hope, I Peter, II Corinthians, Inspiration, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Jesus Christ, Job, John, Kindness, Knowledge, Life, Light, Living Word of God, Love, Love, Majesty, Major Prophets, Matthew, Mercy, Nehemiah, New Testament, Obedience, Old Testament, Pauline Epistles, Peace, Pentateuch or The Five Books of Moses, Philippians, Power, Praise, Prayer, Promises, Protection, Proverbs, Provision, Psalms, Rejoice, Relief, Righteousness, Romans, Safety, Sovereign, Spirituality, Strength, Thanks, Trust, Truth, Understanding, Victory, Waiting on God, Wisdom Books, Wonders, Words of Jesus, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

Calendar

April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
