Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith

Restoration of Favor

Psalm 83:18

Psalm 83

God, do not keep silent.
Do not be deaf, God; do not be idle.

See how Your enemies make an uproar;
those who hate You have acted arrogantly.
They devise clever schemes against Your people;
they conspire against Your treasured ones.

They say, “Come, let us wipe them out as a nation
so that Israel’s name will no longer be remembered.”

For they have conspired with one mind;  they form an alliance against You—
the tents of Edom and the Ishmaelites, Moab and the Hagrites,
Gebal, Ammon, and Amalek, Philistia with the inhabitants of Tyre.
Even Assyria has joined them; they lend support to the sons of Lot.

Deal with them as You did with Midian, as You did with Sisera
and Jabin at the Kishon River. They were destroyed at Endor;
they became manure for the ground.

Make their nobles like Oreb and Zeeb, and all their tribal leaders like Zebah and Zalmunna, who said,
“Let us seize God’s pastures for ourselves.”

Make them like tumbleweed, my God, like straw before the wind.
As fire burns a forest, as a flame blazes through mountains,
so pursue them with Your tempest and terrify them with Your storm.

Cover their faces with shame so that they will seek Your name O Lord.
Let them be put to shame and terrified forever;
let them perish in disgrace.

That they may know that You, whose name alone is the Lord, Are the Most High over all the earth.

Share A Verse

The Lord God is a Sun and Shield

Psalm 84:5-12

Blessed is the man whose strength is in You, Whose heart is set on pilgrimage.  As they pass through the Valley of Baca, they make it a spring; the rain also covers it with pools.  They go from strength to strength; Each one appears before God in Zion.

O Lord God of hosts, hear my prayer; Give ear, O God of Jacob!  O God, behold our shield, And look upon the face of Your anointed.  For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand anywhere else.

I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness.

For the Lord God is a sun and shield; The Lord will give grace and glory; No good thing will He withhold From those who walk uprightly.  O Lord of hosts, Blessed is the man who trusts in You!

Psalm 85
Lord, You showed favor to Your land; You restored Jacob’s prosperity.  You took away Your people’s guilt; You covered all their sin.  You withdrew all Your fury; You turned from Your burning anger.

Return to us, God of our salvation, and abandon Your displeasure with us.  Will You be angry with us forever? Will You prolong Your anger for all generations?  Will You not revive us again so that Your people may rejoice in You?

Show us Your faithful love, Lord, and give us Your salvation.

I will listen to what God will say; surely the Lord will declare peace to His people, His godly ones, and not let them go back to foolish ways.

His salvation is very near those who fear Him, so that glory may dwell in our land.

Faithful love and truth will join together; righteousness and peace will embrace.  Truth will spring up from the earth, and righteousness will look down from heaven.

Also, the Lord will provide what is good, and our land will yield its crops. Righteousness will go before Him to prepare the way for His steps.

Psalm 86

Bow down Your ear, O Lord, hear me;
For I am poor and needy.
Preserve my life, for I am holy;
You are my God;
Save Your servant who trusts in You!

Be merciful to me, O Lord,
For I cry to You all day long.
Rejoice the soul of Your servant,
For to You, O Lord, I lift up my soul.
For You, Lord, are good, and ready to forgive,
And abundant in mercy to all those who call upon You.

Lord, hear my prayer; listen to my plea for mercy.
In the day of my trouble I will call upon You,
For You will answer me.

Lord, there is no one like You among the gods,
and there are no works like Yours.
All the nations You have made
will come and bow down before You, Lord,
and will honor Your name.

For You are great, and do wondrous things;
You alone are God.

Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in Your truth;
Unite my heart to fear Your name.

I will praise You, O Lord my God, with all my heart,
And I will glorify Your name forevermore.
For great is Your mercy toward me,

And You have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.
Give me an undivided mind to fear Your name.

God, arrogant people have attacked me;
a gang of ruthless men seeks my life.
They have no regard for You.

But You, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God,
slow to anger and abundant in mercy and truth.

Turn to me and be gracious to me.
Give Your strength to Your servant;
save the son of Your female servant.
Show me a sign of Your goodness;
my enemies will see and be put to shame
because You, Lord, have helped and comforted me.

Share A Verse

Psalm 88

O Lord, God of my salvation, I have cried out day and night before You.   Let my prayer come before You;  incline Your ear to my cry.   For my soul is full of troubles, and my life draws near to the grave.

I am counted with those who go down to the pit;  I am like a man who has no strength, abandoned among the dead, like the slain who lie in the grave, whom You remember no more, and who are cut off from Your care.

You have laid me in the lowest pit, in the darkest places, in the depths.   Your wrath lies heavy upon me, and You have afflicted me with all Your waves.

You have put away my acquaintances far from me;  You have made me repulsive to them.   I am shut up, and I cannot get out;  my eyes are worn out from crying.

Lord, I cry out to You all day long; I spread out my hands to You.

Will You work wonders for the dead?   Shall the dead arise and praise You?

Shall Your lovingkindness be declared in the grave?   Or Your faithfulness in the place of destruction?

Shall Your wonders be known in the dark?   And Your righteousness in the land of forgetfulness?

But to You I have cried out, O Lord, and in the morning my prayer comes before You.

Lord, why do You cast off my soul?   Why do You hide Your face from me?

I have been afflicted and ready to die from my youth;  I suffer Your terrors; I am distraught.

Your fierce wrath has gone over me; Your terrors have cut me off.   They came around me all day long like water;  they close in on me from every side.  Loved one and friend You have put far from me, and darkness is my only friend.

Psalm 90:13-17

Lord—how long?

Turn and have compassion on Your servants.
Satisfy us in the morning with Your faithful love
so that we may shout with joy and be glad all our days.
Make us rejoice for as many days as You have humbled us,
for as many years as we have seen adversity.
Let Your work be seen by Your servants,
and Your splendor by their children.
Let the favor of the Lord our God be on us;
establish for us the work of our hands—
establish the work of our hands!

Share A Verse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Calendar

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
