Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith

The Names of God

Names of God

Psalms 148:13   Let them praise and exalt the name of the Lord, for His name alone is exalted and supreme! His glory and majesty are above earth and heaven!

NOTE:  ShareAVerse has received multiple comments and mentions in articles regarding this post stating that believing that Jesus is God is wrong.  At this time, ShareAVerse would like to make it extremely clear in case there is any confusion:  Jesus IS God.  The Bible is very clear on this.  Do not be deceived or mistaken or let anyone tell you differently.  God is One.  God the Father, Jesus the Son, and the Holy Spirit make up the Holy Trinity.  God is God.  Jesus Is God.   The Trinity, TRIUNE GODHEAD

Immanuel – God is with us
Isaiah 7:14     Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign:   The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.

El Hannora – The Awesome God
Nehemiah 9:32    Now therefore, our God, the great God, mighty and awesome, who keeps his covenant of love, do not let all this hardship seem trifling in your eyes—the hardship that has come on us, on our kings and leaders, on our priests and prophets, on our ancestors and all your people, from the days of the kings of Assyria until today.

El Echad – The One God
Malachi 2:10    Do we not all have one Father?  Did not one God create us?  Why do we profane the covenant of our ancestors by being unfaithful to one another?

El Hanne’eman – The Faithful God
Deuteronomy 7:9     Know therefore that the LORD your God is God;  He is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commandments.

El Emet – The God of Truth (Emet means firmness, faithfulness, reliableness)
Psalm 31:5     Into your hands I commit my spirit; deliver me, LORD, my faithful God.

El Tsaddik – The Righteous God
Isaiah 45:21     Declare what is to be, present it— let them take counsel together. Who foretold this long ago, who declared it from the distant past?  Was it not I, the LORD?  And there is no God apart from me, a righteous God and a Savior; there is none but me.

El Roi – The God Who Sees Me
Genesis 16:13    
She gave this name to the LORD who spoke to her:   “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.”

El Yeshurun – The God of Jeshurun or The God of the Righteous People

El Gibbor – The Mighty God
Isaiah 9:6     For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders.   And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

El De’ot – The God of Knowledge
1 Samuel 2:3    Do not keep talking so proudly or let your mouth speak such arrogance, for the LORD is a God who knows, and by him deeds are weighed.

El Haggadol – The Great God
Deuteronomy 10:17     For the LORD your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who shows no partiality and accepts no bribes.

El Hakkavod – The God of Glory
Psalm 29:3     The voice of the LORD is over the waters; the God of glory thunders, the LORD thunders over the mighty waters.

El Hakkadosh – The Holy God
Isaiah 5:16     But the LORD Almighty will be exalted by his justice, and the holy God will be proved holy by his righteous acts.

El Hashamayirn – The God of Heaven
Psalm 136:26     Give thanks to the God of heaven.   His love endures forever.

El Chaiyai – The God of My Life
Psalm 42:8     By day the LORD directs his love, at night his song is with me— a prayer to the God of my life.

El-Channun – The Gracious God
Jonah 4:2     He prayed to the LORD, “ Isn’t this what I said, LORD, when I was still at home? That is what I tried to forestall by fleeing to Tarshish. I knew that You are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love, a God who relents from sending calamity.

El Yisrael – The God of Israel
Psalms 68:35     You, God, are awesome in your sanctuary; the God of Israel gives power and strength to his people.

El Sali – God of My Strength, God my Rock
Psalms 42:9     I say to God my Rock, “Why have you forgotten me? Why must I go about mourning, oppressed by the enemy?”

El Erekh Apayim avi ha-tanchumim – The God of Patience and Consolation
Erekh apayim means patient and tanchurnim is the Hebrew word for consolation  (which comes from nichum, meaning comforts.   Isaiah 57:18   I have seen his ways, and will heal him; I will also lead him, And restore comforts to him And to his mourners.)
COMFORT:   to soothe, console, or reassure; bring cheer to; relief in affliction; consolation; solace
CONSOLATION:   the act of consoling; comfort; solace

Romans 15:5     Now the God of patience and consolation grant you to be like-minded one toward another according to Christ Jesus

El Rachum – The God of Compassion, Compassionate God
MERCY:  compassionate or kindly forbearance shown toward an offender, an enemy, or other person in one’s power; compassion, pity, or benevolence; the disposition to be compassionate or forbearing; an act of kindness, compassion, or favor; something that gives evidence of divine favor;

Deuteronomy 4:31     For the LORD thy God is a merciful God; He will not forsake thee, neither destroy thee, nor forget the covenant of thy fathers which He swore unto them.

El malei Rachamim – God full of mercy, All merciful God

El Yeshuati – The God of my Salvation
Isaiah 12:2     Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; He also is become my salvation.

El Yeshuantenu – The God of our Salvation
Psalms 68:19     Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits, even the God of our salvation.   Selah.

El Shaddai – Lord God Almighty
Genesis 17:1     And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the LORD appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect.

El Elyon – The Most High God
Genesis 14:18     And Melchizedek king of Salem brought forth bread and wine:   and he was the priest of the most high God.

Adonai – Lord God
Genesis 15:2     And Abram said, LORD God, what wilt thou give me, seeing I go childless, and the steward of my house is this Eliezer of Damascus?

Yahweh – Lord, Jehovah
Genesis 2:4     These are the generations of the heavens and of the earth when they were created, in the day that the LORD God made the earth and the heavens

Yahweh is God’s personal name and is usually translated as LORD in upper case letters.  LORD is not a literal translation as Yahweh actually means “I am who I am” or “I will be who I will be” as it is found in Exodus.

Exodus 3:13-15   Then Moses said to God, “Indeed, when I come to the children of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they say to me, ‘What is His name?’ what shall I say to them?”

And God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.”  And He said, “Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’” Moreover God said to Moses, “Thus you shall say to the children of Israel:  ‘The Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you. This is My name forever, and this is My memorial to all generations.’

Exodus 6:2-3     And God speaketh unto Moses, and saith unto him, `I [AM] Jehovah, and I appear unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, as God Almighty; as to My name Jehovah, I have not been known to them;

Yahweh (LORD) is found in the scriptures 6807 times.  This name is used more than any other name of God.  Yahweh is the promised name of God. This name of God which (by Jewish tradition) is too holy to voice, is actually spelled “YHWH” without vowels. YHWH is referred to as the Tetragrammaton (which simply means “the four letters”). YHWH comes from the Hebrew letters: Yud, Hay, Vav, Hay.

While YHWH is first used in Genesis 2, God did not reveal Himself as YHWH until Exodus 3. The modern spelling as “Yahweh” includes vowels to assist in pronunciation. Many pronounce YHWH as “Yahweh” or “Jehovah.” We no longer know for certain the exact pronunciation. During the third century A.D., the Jewish people stopped saying this name in fear of contravening the commandment “Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain” (Exodus 20:7). As a result of this, Adonai is occasionally a substitute for YHWH.

Jehovah Nissi – The Lord My Banner, The Lord My Miracle
Exodus 17:15     And Moses built an altar, and called the name of it Jehovahnissi:

Jehovah-Raah – The Lord My Shepherd
Psalms 23:1     The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

Jehovah Rapha – The Lord That Heals
Jehovah is the Great Physician who heals the physical and emotional needs of His people.

Exodus 15:26     And said, If thou wilt diligently hearken to the voice of the LORD thy God, and wilt do that which is right in his sight, and wilt give ear to his commandments, and keep all his statutes, I will put none of these diseases upon thee, which I have brought upon the Egyptians:  for I am the LORD that healeth thee.

Jehovah Shammah – The Lord Is There
Ezekiel 48:35     It was round about eighteen thousand measures: and the name of the city from that day shall be, The LORD is there.

Jehovah Tsidkenu – The Lord Our Righteousness
Jeremiah 23:6     In his days Judah shall be saved, and Israel shall dwell safely:  and this is his name whereby he shall be called, THE LORD OUR RIGHTEOUSNESS.

Jehovah Mekoddishkem – The Lord Who Sanctifies You, The Lord Who Makes Holy
Exodus 31:13     Speak thou also unto the children of Israel, saying, Verily my Sabbaths ye shall keep:   for it is a sign between me and you throughout your generations; that ye may know that I am the LORD that doth sanctify you.

El Olam – The Everlasting God, The God of Eternity, The God of the Universe, The God of Ancient Days
Genesis 21:33     And Abraham planted a grove in Beersheba, and called there on the name of the LORD, the everlasting God.

Elohim – God the Creator
Genesis 1:1     In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.

Qanna – Jealous God
Exodus 20:5     Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me;

Jehovah Jireh – The Lord Will Provide
Genesis 22:14     And Abraham called the name of that place Jehovahjireh: as it is said to this day, In the mount of the LORD it shall be seen.

Jehovah Shalom – The Lord Is Peace
Judges 6:24    Then Gideon built an altar there unto the LORD, and called it Jehovahshalom: unto this day it is yet in Ophrah of the Abiezrites.

Jehovah Sabaoth – The Lord of Hosts, The Lord of Powers
1 Samuel 1:3    And this man went up out of his city yearly to worship and to sacrifice unto the LORD of hosts in Shiloh. And the two sons of Eli, Hophni and Phinehas, the priests of the LORD, were there.

Next: The Trinity, TRIUME GODHEAD  >

The Names of God
The Trinity, TRIUNE GODHEAD
Know that the Lord, He is God
Jesus Is
Jesus is The Gift of God

Share A Verse

13 comments on “The Names of God

  1. Pingback: God and the prophet | daily meditation

  2. Pingback: Praise Jehovah, the Only One God | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

  3. Pingback: Favor of God: How to Get the Favor of the Lord? | End Times Prophecy Report

  4. Pingback: JEHOVAH ROI (Raah) – The Lord is my Shepard | Inspirational Matters

  5. Pingback: God’s Own Training School | Samuel : The Last Judge - The First Prophet

  6. Pingback: Doing it wrong | A Mom's Life

  7. Pingback: Protection | Quality of Life Ministries

  8. Pingback: God's Mercy | Quality of Life Ministries

  9. Pingback: God’s Help | Quality of Life Ministries

  10. Pingback: Nations | Quality of Life Ministries

  11. Pingback: Trusting, Faith, Calling and Ascribing to Jehovah #6 Prayer #4 Attitude | Christadelphians : Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

  12. royaltymind1me
    July 5, 2013

    Lovely blog to wake up too, thanks much!

    • shareaverse
      July 5, 2013

      Thank you! What a blessing. Have a wonderful day!

      ShareAVerse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Calendar

July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
