Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith

The Lord Sustains Me

Psalm 4:1

SUSTAIN:   to support, hold, or bear up from below; endure without giving way or yielding; to keep (a person, the mind, the spirits, etc.) from giving way, as under trial or affliction; to supply with food, drink, and other necessities of life; to provide for by furnishing means or funds; to support by aid or approval; carry, support, maintain; to provide for or give support to, esp by supplying necessities; to keep up the vitality or courage of
 

All of God’s children have days and times when they feel like they have prayed every prayer they know how to pray and still . . . it seems as if nothing is happening.  

When you have checked every avenue for an obstacle within yourselfyes, I am trusting God.  Yes, I believe He is able.  Yes, I am making time for Him.  Yes, I am meditating on His word.  Yes, I am praying and saying.  Yes, I am hiding His word in my heart that I might not sin against Him.  Yes, I have forgiven everyone of everything I can think of.  Yes, I have a good attitude.  Yes, I am hoping, believing, trusting, waiting, expecting.  Yes, I am professing the end before the beginning.  Yes, I have rebuked the devil.  Yes, I have drawn near to God so He would draw near to me.  Yes, I have resisted the devil so he would flee.  Yes, I am being kind, generous, friendly, walking in love.  

When you have prayed every way and every thing you can think of to prayThe Lord’s Prayer.  Formal prayer.  Humble prayer.  Prayer with eyes closed.  Prayer with eyes open.  Prayer on your knees.  Prayer on your face.  Prayer sitting down.  Prayer standing up.  Prayer in the morning.  Prayer at noon.  Prayer at night.  Getting up early to pray.  Setting aside time to pray.  Praying in your prayer closet with the door closed.  Praying in unity with other believers.  Prayer of confession.  Prayer of profession.  Prayer of thanksgiving.  Prayer of supplication.  Just talking to God.  Prayer out loud.  Prayer in your heart.  Prayer in the Spirit.  Prayer in Jesus’ name.  Asking.  Seeking.  Knocking.  Beseeching.  Requesting.  Pleading.  Praying the promises.  Claiming the promises.  Praying believing you have what you ask for before you receive it.  Prayer thanking God for the prayers He has answered and they are in the works even though you can’t see the final outcome yet.  Prayer believing.  Prayer receiving.  Prayer for wisdom.  Prayer for revelation.  Prayer for discernment.  Bold prayer before the throne of God.  Humble prayer.  Quiet prayer.  Loud prayer.  Prayer with tears.   Prayer with no words.  Prayers sung.  Prayers whispered.  Prayers written down.  Casting your cares upon the Lord.  

When you have read the scriptures.  Studied the scriptures.  Researched the scriptures.  Memorized the scriptures.  Shared the scriptures.  Discussed the scriptures.  Surrounded yourself with the scriptures.  Trusted all scripture as divine from God, His word, believing and claiming, and walking in the scriptures.  

When you feel like you have done everything you know to do exactly the way you believe God would have you to do it – and still . . . nothing.  

This is when you don’t understand.  This is when you are vulnerable.  This is when you can start to doubt.  To question.  To get angry with God.  This can open the door just wide enough for Satan to come in and start whispering things in your ear.  Putting thoughts in your head.  

It’s because you aren’t really good enough.  
 
It’s because God is still punishing you for something you did or something you didn’t do.  
 
God is not real.  You’ve psyched yourself out to believe a bunch of mumbo jumbo and look, if it was real wouldn’t God have done something by now?
 
You are wasting your time.  If you want something done you need to do it yourself.  God is not listening.  God does not care.  God is not coming so stop waiting on Him.  Stop looking for Him.  Stop believing.  He’s just not coming.  

Pray the Psalms.

The Psalms are songs and poems and laments to God.  The Psalms are human and real.  The Psalms are full of praise and thanksgiving and hope and peace and love and assurance.  But the Psalms are also gritty and rugged and plain.  The Psalms are full of pain and hurt and anger.  The Psalms are about love and justice but also about betrayal, loneliness, heartache, disappointment, persecution, times of abandonment.

Read the Psalms one verse at a time meditating on the reality of all that is the human condition, the God who created this world, the God who knows there is suffering here but also the God who promises to deliver His children.  The Psalms will help you not feel so beat up.  You will find encouragement there to do it all again just one more day and to keep praying for God to hurry.  Make haste.  I am just human.  

Psalm 1:1-2     Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the path of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful; But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and in His law he meditates day and night.

Psalm 2:12     Blessed are all those who put their trust in Him.

Psalm 3:2     Many are they who say of me, “There is no help for him in God.” Selah

Psalm 3:3     But You, O Lord, are a shield for me, my glory and the One who lifts up my head.

Psalm 3:4     I cried to the Lord with my voice, and He heard me from His holy hill. Selah

Psalm 3:5     I lay down and slept; I wakened again, for the Lord sustains me.

Psalm 3:7     Arise, O Lord; Save me, O my God!

Psalm 3:8     Salvation belongs to the Lord. Your blessing is upon Your people. Selah

Psalm 4:1     Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness! You have freed me when I was hemmed in and enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me and hear my prayer.

[Enlarged me:   Greek rachab – deliver out of distress]

Psalm 4:3     But know that the Lord has set apart for Himself him who is godly. The Lord listens and heeds when I call to Him.

Psalm 4:5     And put your trust in the Lord.

Psalm 5:1     Listen to my words, O Lord, give heed to my sighing and groaning.

Psalm 5:2     Hear the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to You do I pray.

Psalm 5:3     In the morning You hear my voice, O Lord; in the morning I prepare [a prayer, a sacrifice] for You and watch and wait [for You to speak to my heart].

Psalm 5:7     But as for me, I will enter Your house through the abundance of Your steadfast love and mercy; I will worship toward and at Your holy temple in reverent fear and awe of You.

Psalm 5:8     Lead me, O Lord, in Your righteousness because of my enemies; make Your way level (straight and right) before my face.

Psalm 5:11     But let all those rejoice who put their trust in You; Let them ever shout for joy, because You defend them; Let those also who love Your name be joyful in You.

Psalm 5:12For You, O Lord, will bless the righteous; With favor You will surround him as with a shield.

Psalm 6:2     Have mercy on me, O Lord, for I am weak; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are troubled.

Psalm 6:2-3

Psalm 6:3     My soul also is greatly troubled; But You, O Lord—how long?

Psalm 6:4     Return, O Lord, deliver me! Oh, save me for Your mercies’ sake!

Psalm 6:5-7     For in death there is no remembrance of You; In the grave who will give You thanks? I am weary with my groaning; All night I make my bed swim; I drench my couch with my tears. My eye wastes away because of grief;

Psalm 6:8-9     For the Lord has heard the voice of my weeping. The Lord has heard my supplication; The Lord will receive my prayer.

Psalm 7:1     O Lord my God, in You I put my trust; Save me from all those who persecute me; and deliver me

Psalm 7:8     Judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness, and according to my integrity within me.

Psalm 7:10     My defense is of God, Who saves the upright in heart.

Psalm 7:17     I will praise the Lord according to His righteousness, and will sing praise to the name of the Lord Most High.

Psalm 8:1     O Lord, our Lord, How excellent is Your name in all the earth, Who have set Your glory above the heavens!

Psalm 8:9     O Lord, our Lord, How excellent is Your name in all the earth!

Psalm 9:1     I will praise You, O Lord, with my whole heart; I will tell of all Your marvelous works.

Psalm 9:2     I will be glad and rejoice in You; I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High.

Psalm 9:7     But the Lord shall endure forever;

Psalm 9:9     The Lord also will be a refuge for the oppressed, A refuge in times of trouble.

Psalm 9:10     And those who know Your name will put their trust in You; For You, Lord, have not forsaken those who seek You.

Psalm 9:11     Sing praises to the Lord, who dwells in Zion! Declare His deeds among the people.

Psalm 9:12     He does not forget the cry of the humble.

Psalm 9:13-14     Have mercy on me, O Lord! Consider my trouble from those who hate me, You who lift me up from the gates of death, That I may tell of all Your praise in the gates of the daughter of Zion. I will rejoice in Your salvation.

Psalm 9:18     For the needy shall not always be forgotten; The expectation of the poor shall not perish forever.

Psalm 22:2 I call out to God

Psalm 10:1     Why do You stand afar off, O Lord? Why do You hide in times of trouble?

It would be a bold untruth to say or to believe that no child of God ever looks at the prosperity of those who never give Him the time of day and wonders.  Sometimes it is a hard pill to swallow when a faithful child of God is in desperate need, depending on God to save them, and yet they continue to sink lower while others disregard God in every part of their lives and they have jobs, children, it seems they have plenty of everything they need for a happy life.

Psalm 10:2-11     The wicked in his pride persecutes the poor; Let them be caught in the plots which they have devised. For the wicked boasts of his heart’s desire; He blesses the greedy and renounces the Lord. The wicked in his proud countenance does not seek God; God is in none of his thoughts. His ways are always prospering;  Your judgments are far above, out of his sight; As for all his enemies, he sneers at them. He has said in his heart, “I shall not be moved; I shall never be in adversity.” His mouth is full of cursing and deceit and oppression; Under his tongue is trouble and iniquity. He sits in the lurking places of the villages; In the secret places he murders the innocent; His eyes are secretly fixed on the helpless. He lies in wait secretly, as a lion in his den; He lies in wait to catch the poor; He catches the poor when he draws him into his net. So he crouches, he lies low, That the helpless may fall by his strength. He has said in his heart, “God has forgotten; He hides His face; He will never see.”

Psalm 10:12     Arise, O Lord! O God, lift up Your hand! Do not forget the humble.

Psalm 10:14     The helpless commits himself to You; You are the helper of the fatherless.

Psalm 10:16     The Lord is King forever and ever;

Psalm 10:17-18     Lord, You have heard the desire of the humble; You will prepare their heart; You will cause Your ear to hear, to do justice to the fatherless and the oppressed, That the man of the earth may oppress no more.

Psalm 11:7     For the Lord is righteous, He loves righteousness; His countenance beholds the upright.

Psalm 12:5     “For the oppression of the poor, for the sighing of the needy, now I will arise,” says the Lord; “I will set him in the safety for which he yearns.”

Psalm 12:6     The words of the Lord are pure words, like silver tried in a furnace of earth, purified seven times.

Psalm 12:7     You shall keep them, O Lord, You shall preserve them from this generation forever.

Psalm 13:1-2     How long, O Lord? Will You forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily? How long will my enemy be exalted over me?

Psalm 13:3-4     Consider and hear me, O Lord my God; Enlighten my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death; lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed against him”; lest those who trouble me rejoice when I am moved.

Psalm 13:5     But I have trusted in Your mercy; My heart shall rejoice in Your salvation.

Psalm 13:6     I will sing to the Lord, because He has dealt bountifully with me.

Psalm 14:1-4     The fool has said in his heart, “There is no God.” They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none who does good. The Lord looks down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there are any who understand, who seek God. They have all turned aside, they have together become corrupt; there is none who does good, No, not one. Have all the workers of iniquity no knowledge, who eat up my people as they eat bread, and do not call on the Lord?

Psalm 14:5     There they are in great fear, For God is with the generation of the righteous.

Psalm 14:6     You shame the counsel of the poor, But the Lord is his refuge.

Psalm 16:1     Preserve me, O God, for in You I put my trust.

Psalm 16:2     O my soul, you have said to the Lord, “You are my Lord, my goodness is nothing apart from You.”

Psalm 16:5     O Lord, You are the portion of my inheritance and my cup; You maintain my lot.

Psalm 16:6     The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Yes, I have a good inheritance.

Psalm 16:7     I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel; My heart also instructs me in the night seasons.

Psalm 16:8     I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.

Psalm 16:9     Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices; my flesh also will rest in hope.

Psalm 16:10     For You will not leave my soul in Sheol, Nor will You allow Your Holy One to see corruption.

Psalm 16:11     You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

Psalm 17:1

Psalm 17:1     Hear a just cause, O Lord, attend to my cry; Give ear to my prayer which is not from deceitful lips.

Psalm 17:24     Let my vindication come from Your presence; Let Your eyes look on the things that are upright. You have tested my heart; You have visited me in the night; You have tried me and have found nothing; I have purposed that my mouth shall not transgress. Concerning the works of men, by the word of Your lips, I have kept away from the paths of the destroyer.

Psalm 17:5     Uphold my steps in Your paths, that my footsteps may not slip.

Psalm 17:6     I have called upon You, for You will hear me, O God; incline Your ear to me, and hear my speech.

Psalm 17:7     Show Your marvelous lovingkindness by Your right hand, O You who save those who trust in You from those who rise up against them.

Psalm 17:8-9     Keep me as the apple of Your eye; Hide me under the shadow of Your wings, from the wicked who oppress me, from my deadly enemies who surround me.

Psalm 17:15     As for me, I will see Your face in righteousness; I shall be satisfied when I awake in Your likeness.

Psalm 18:1     I will love You, O Lord, my strength.

Psalm 18:2     The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Psalm 18:3     I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised; So shall I be saved from my enemies.

Psalm 18:4-5     The pangs of death surrounded me, and the floods of ungodliness made me afraid. The sorrows of Sheol surrounded me; the snares of death confronted me.

Psalm 18:6     In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried out to my God; He heard my voice from His temple, And my cry came before Him, even to His ears.

Psalm 18:16-17     He sent from above, He took me; He drew me out of many waters. He delivered me from my strong enemy, from those who hated me, for they were too strong for me.

Psalm 18:18     They confronted me in the day of my calamity, But the Lord was my support.

Psalm 18:19     He also brought me out into a broad place; He delivered me because He delighted in me.

Psalm 18:20     The Lord rewarded me according to my righteousness; According to the cleanness of my hands He has recompensed me.

Psalm 18:21-22     For I have kept the ways of the Lord, and have not wickedly departed from my God. For all His judgments were before me, and I did not put away His statutes from me.

Psalm 18:23-24     I was also blameless before Him, and I kept myself from my iniquity. Therefore the Lord has recompensed me according to my righteousness, according to the cleanness of my hands in His sight.

Psalm 18:25-26     With the merciful You will show Yourself merciful; With a blameless man You will show Yourself blameless; With the pure You will show Yourself pure; and with the devious You will show Yourself shrewd.

Psalm 18:27     For You will save the humble people

Psalm 18:28     For You will light my lamp; The Lord my God will enlighten my darkness.

Psalm 18:30    As for God, His way is perfect; The word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him.

Psalm 18:31     For who is God, except the Lord? And who is a rock, except our God?

Psalm 18:32     It is God who arms me with strength, and makes my way perfect.

Psalm 18:35     You have also given me the shield of Your salvation; Your right hand has held me up, Your gentleness has made me great.

Psalm 18:36     You enlarged my path under me, so my feet did not slip.

Psalm 18:39     For You have armed me with strength for the battle; You have subdued under me those who rose up against me.

Psalm 18:46     The Lord lives! Blessed be my Rock! Let the God of my salvation be exalted.

Psalm 18:47     It is God who avenges me

Psalm 18:48     He delivers me from my enemies. You also lift me up above those who rise against me; You have delivered me from the violent man.

Psalm 18:49     I will give thanks to You, O Lord, and sing praises to Your name.

Psalm 19:7-11     The law of the Lord is perfect, converting the soul; The testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple; The statutes of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart; The commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes; The fear of the Lord is clean, enduring forever; The judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold, Yea, than much fine gold; Sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. Moreover by them Your servant is warned, and in keeping them there is great reward.

Psalm 19:14     Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

Psalm 20:1     May the Lord answer you in the day of trouble; May the name of the God of Jacob defend you;

Psalm 20:2     May He send you help from the sanctuary, And strengthen you out of Zion;

Psalm 20:4     May He grant you according to your heart’s desire, and fulfill all your purpose.

Psalm 20:5     We will rejoice in your salvation, and in the name of our God we will set up our banners! May the Lord fulfill all your petitions.

Psalm 20:6     Now I know that the Lord saves His anointed; He will answer him from His holy heaven with the saving strength of His right hand.

Psalm 20:7-9     Some trust in chariots, and some in horses; but we will remember the name of the Lord our God.  They have bowed down and fallen; but we have risen and stand upright. Save, Lord! May the King answer us when we call.

Share A Verse

One comment on “The Lord Sustains Me

  1. a_l_henley
    March 14, 2014

    Reblogged this on Intrepid Didymus.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 187 other followers

Calendar

July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
