Share A Verse

uplifting thoughts and inspiration on faith


The Book of Leviticus is the third book of the Hebrew Bible, and the third of five books of the Torah (or Pentateuch).

The title “Leviticus” comes from the Latin Vulgate version of the Greek word Leuitikon meaning “matters of the Levites”, the tribe from which the priests were selected. The Jews also described Leviticus by such designations as ‘the law of the priests,’ ‘the book of the priests,’ and ‘the law of the offerings.’ These latter characterized the general contents of the book, recognizing it as a work intended principally for the Hebrew priesthood as Leviticus describes the responsibilities of the Levite priests in daily worship, special days, special feasts, and how to instruct the people on worship and living a holy life.

Leviticus 11:45   I am the LORD, who brought you up out of Egypt to be your God; therefore be holy, because I am holy.

Leviticus can be effectively separated into two major portions:  Chapters 1-16 and Chapters 17-27

Laws Pertaining to Sacrifice (Leviticus Chapter 1:1 through Chapter 7:38)

  •  Legislation for the Laity (Leviticus Chapter 1:1 through Chapter 6:7)
  1. Burnt offerings (Chapter 1)
  2.  Grain offerings (Chapter 2)
  3. Peace offerings (Chapter 3)
  4.  Sin offerings (Chapter 4:1–5:13)
  5. Trespass offerings (Chapter 5:14–6:7)
  • Legislation for the Priesthood (Chapter 6:8–7:38)
  1. Burnt offerings (Chapter 6:8–13)
  2. Grain offerings (Chapter 6:14–23)
  3. Sin offerings (Chapter 6:24–30)
  4. Trespass offerings (Chapter 7:1–10)
  5. Peace offerings (Chapter 7:11–36)
  6. Concluding remarks (Chapter 7:37-38)

Beginnings of the Priesthood (Chapter 8:1–10:20)

  • Ordination of Aaron and His Sons (Chapter 8)
  • First Sacrifices (Chapter 9)
  • Execution of Nadab and Abihu (Chapter 10)

Prescriptions for Uncleanness (Chapter 11:1–16:34)

  • Unclean Animals (Chapter 11)
  • Uncleanness of Childbirth (Chapter 12)
  • Unclean Diseases (Chapter 13)
  • Cleansing of Diseases (Chapter 14)
  • Unclean Discharges (Chapter 15)
  • Purification of the Tabernacle from Uncleanness (Chapter 16)

Guidelines for Practical Holiness (Chapter 17:1–27:34)

  • Sacrifice and Food (Chapter 17)
  • Proper Sexual Behavior (Chapter 18)
  • Neighborliness (Chapter 19)
  • Capital/Grave Crimes (Chapter 20)
  • Instructions for Priests (Chapter 21, 22)
  • Religious Festivals (Chapter 23)
  • The Tabernacle (Chapter 24:1–9)
  • An Account of Blasphemy (Chapter 24:10–23)
  • Sabbatical and Jubilee Years (Chapter 25)
  • Exhortation to Obey the Law: Blessings and Curses (Chapter 26)
  • Redemption of Votive Gifts (Chapter 27)


Click HERE for a Discussion on Leviticus


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other followers


August 2019
« Apr    
%d bloggers like this: